Grant Proposal Guidelines

Proposals for the Waterbird Society Kushlan and Nisbet Research Grants

General Information for Applicants

  • These awards are open to applicants, professional, amateur, or student, of any age, globally.
  • Proposals will be judged on the basis of scientific merit and the described work’s likelihood to contribute significant new information to the published literature regarding the biology, ecology, or conservation biology of wading birds (herons, egrets, storks, ibises, and spoonbills: Kushlan Award) and primarily terns or gulls (Nisbet Grant). The Waterbird Society Award is open to research, monitoring or conservation work on any waterbird species.
  • The same proposal cannot be submitted for more than one award in a given year. The Grants Committee reserves the right to move a proposal to different category if warranted.
  • Kushlan Award may be up to $7,000, while Nisbet and Waterbird Society Awards may be up to $5,000.
  • All proposals must be printed in English in standard 12-point font format.
  • Proposals should be brief (5 pages total), and should include a cover sheet (click here), a narrative and a budget.
  • The narrative should provide a rationale and methodology, including why the work is important and likely to produce significant results.
  • The budget should include details regarding how the money requested is to be spent, the total cost of the project, and other sources of potential funding already applied for.
  • Click here to view the rubric used to assess Kushlan, Nisbet & Waterbird Society awards.
  • Verification of appropriate permits from relevant government agencies to carry out the work must be provided in advance of any award.
  • Proposals should be submitted electronically in Word or RTF formats. All correspondence about the application, its receipt and funding decisions will be communicated by e-mail to the applicants.
  • All applicants will be notified as soon as a decision regarding each year’s awards has been made.
  • Proposals are due 01 February. Awards will be announced by 01 March, annually.

Grant applications should be submitted to:

Dr. Nellie Tsipoura (co-Chair, Grants Committee)